Marine Biodiversity and Ecosystem Functioning
EU Network of Excellence

 
Main Menu

· Home
· Contacts
· Data System
· Documents
· Events Calendar
· FAQ
· Forums
· Job M@RKET
· Links
· MarBEF Open Archive
· Network Description
· Outreach
· Photo Gallery
· Quality Assurance
· Register of Resources
· Research Projects
· Rules and Guidelines
· Training
· Weekly News Bulletin
· Wiki
· Worldconference
 

 

Last 3 Job opportunities View latest job opportunities RSS feed


>> Go to Job M@RKET

Last 2 forum posts View MarBEF Forum RSS feed

 Field course on sharks in South Africa (June 2011)
 training opportunity in basic taxonomy

>> Go to forums

 

 
Who's Online

Currently 35 guest(s) online
Currently 0 member(s) online
 

 
Login

Username

Password

 

Event Calendar

· Year View
· Month View
· Add an Event
· Add a Deadline
Jump to the following view:
 

ASLO Summer Meeting 2005



Location: Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Event Type: Meeting
Event Date: 2005-06-19    
End Date: 2005-06-24

Event Description:
The call for abstracts to the ASLO 2005 Summer Meeting in Santiago de Compostela, Spain (June 19-24, 2005), has opened and is available on line, together with additional information on the meting at: http://www.aslo.org/meetings/santiago2005/

We encourage submissions from a broad geographic, thematic and instrumental range. The absolute abstract deadline is 1st February 2005, but it would be very helpful if prospective authors could notify the conveners well before that time.

MarBEF is sponsoring the ASLO meeting and there are several symposia at the meeting which are organised by MarBEF members. If MarBEF members are interested in participation in this and other symposia they can do so with financial support from MarBEF and under the usual conditions.



Contact email: carlosduarte@imedea.uib.es

Event programme:
The following special sessions, of relevance to MARBEF, offer, among others, particularly relevant forum to present MARBEF results:

SS0? Carbon and carbonate fluxes in the coastal ocean: a tribute to Roland Wollast
Organizers: Jean-Pierre Gattuso (gattuso@obs-vlfr.fr), Fred T. Mackenzie (fredm@iniki.soest.hawaii.edu)
The role of the coastal ocean in the global carbon and carbonate cycles is disproportionately high considering its relatively small surface area (7% of the surface of the ocean). For example, it contributes 15-30% of the oceanic primary production and about 50% of the marine calcification. The aim of this session is to examine the factors explaining such high rates of activity and update our knowledge of global processes and fluxes involving carbon cycling in the coastal ocean, such as primary production, respiration, calcification/dissolution, air-sea CO2 fluxes, inputs from land, upwelling/onwelling, outputs to the open ocean and coupling to nitrogen and phosphorus cycles. Presentations based on process studies, modelling and data synthesis are welcome. This session is a tribute to the late Professor Roland Wollast who was one of the leading scientists recognizing the critical importance of the coastal ocean in the global biogeochemical cycles.

SS01 Ecosystem Engineers in the Benthic Boundary Layer
Organizers: Luca A. van Duren, Netherlands Institute of Ecology, ( l.vanduren@nioo.knaw.nl ) and Joseph D. Ackerman, University of Guelph, ( ackerman@uoguelph.ca )

SS02 Ecology of Gelatinous Zooplankton
Organizers: Francesc Pages, Institut de Ciencies del Mar (CSIC), ( fpages@cmima.csic.es ) and Jennifer E. Purcell, Western Washington University, ( purcelj@cc.wwu.edu )

SS07 Applied Ecosystem-level Research to Reverse Coral Reef Degradation
Organizers: Michael J. Dowgiallo, NOAA/Center for Sponsored Coastal Ocean Research, ( michael.dowgiallo@noaa.gov ) and Felix A. Martinez, NOAA/Center for Sponsored Coastal Ocean Research, ( felix.martinez@noaa.gov )

SS11 Biodiversity, Biogeochemistry and Trophic Interactions: The Braid of Pelagic Microbial Ecology
Organizers: Farooq Azam, Scripps Institution of Oceanoraphy, ( fazam@ucsd.edu ) and Fereidoun Rassoulzadegan, Laboratoire d'Oceanographie de Villefranche (LOV), Université de Paris VI (, ( rassoul@obs-vlfr.fr )

SS12 Quantifying Bioturbation and Bio-irrigation: A ‘Camino’ Beneath the Sediment-water Interface
Organizers: Filip J. R. Meysman, Netherlands Institute of Ecology, ( f.meysman@nioo.knaw.nl ) and Jack J. Middelburg, Netherlands Institute of Ecology, ( j.middelburg@nioo.knaw.nl )

SS15 Food Webs End-to-end, Including the Ecosystem Approach to Living Marine Resources
Organizers: Richard B. Rivkin, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada, ( rrivkin@mun.ca ) and Louis Legendre, Villefranche Oceanography Laboratory, France, ( legendre@obs-vlfr.fr )

SS16 Environmental Effects on Reproduction of Marine Invertebrates
Organizers: Catharina J.M. Philippart, Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, ( katja@nioz.nl ), Peter M. J. Herman, Netherlands Institute of Ecology, ( P.Herman@nioo.knaw.nl ), and Steve J. Hawkins, Marine Biological Association of the UK, ( sjha@mba.ac.uk )

SS17 Viruses, Microbial Diversity and Ecosystem [Function]
Organizers: Steven W Wilhelm, University of Tennessee, ( wilhelm@utk.edu ), Markus G. Weinbauer, Laboratoire d'Océanographie de Villefranche, ( Markus.Weinbauer@obs-vlfr.fr ), and Curtis A. Suttle, University of British Columbia, ( csuttle.eos.ubc.ca )

SS18 The Consequences of Biodiversity in Aquatic Habitats
Organizers: Per Jonsson, Tjärnö Marine Biological Laboratory, Gothenburg University, Sweden, ( per.jonsson@tmbl.gu.se ) and Helmut Hillebrand, University of Cologne, Institute for Botany, Aquatic Ecology, Cologne, Germ, ( helmut.hillebrand@uni-koeln.de )

SS21 Functional Diversity of the Microzooplankton
Organizers: Albert Calbet, Institut de Ciències del Mar-CMIMA (CSIC), ( acalbet@icm.csic.es ) and Michael R. Landry, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, ( mlandry@ucsd.edu )

SS27 Biomineralized Tissues in Marine and Freshwater Organisms
Organizers: Beatriz Morales-Nin, CSIC/UIB-IMEDEA, ( beatriz.morales@uib.es ) and Erlend Moksness, Institute of Marine Research, Flødevigen Marine Research Station, ( moksness@imr.no )

SS32 Diversity Among Components of the Microbial Loop
Organizer: John Dolan, Marine Microbial Ecology Group, Lab Oceanogr Villefranche, ( dolan@obs-vlfr.fr )
This session will be devoted to exploring patterns of diversity in planktonic microbes with the goal of establishing commonalities and differences. Free-living microbes have been described as having global distributions. The amount of genetic diversity among both prokaryotic and eukaryotic planktonic microbes (femto, pico and nano- sized organisms) presently being described should then soon reach a plateau? This is far from clear. Distinct patterns may exist for autotrophic prokaryotes compared to autotrophic eukaryotes. Contributions will ideally involve a variety of microbes from viruses (relations between bacterial and viral diversity) to Pico-autotrophs (prokaryotes & eukaryotes) to bacteriovores and herbivores.

SS36 Non-extremophilic Archaea in Aquatic Environments
Organizers: Lydie Herfort, Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (NIOZ), ( Herfort@nioz.nl ) and Randall E. Hicks, University of Minnesota-Duluth, ( rhicks@imap.d.umn.edu )

SS37 Size Structure of Plankton Communities
Organizers: Xabier Irigoien, AZTI, ( xirigoien@pas.azti.es ), Roger Harris, Plymouth Marine Laboratory, ( r.harris@pml.ac.uk ), and Angel Lopez-Urrutia, Instituto Español de Oceanografía, ( alop@gi.ieo.es )

SS41 Lipids in Trophic Interactions
Organizers: Michael Arts, National Water Research Institute Environment Canada, ( Michael.Arts@ec.gc.ca ) and Eric von Elert, University of Konstanz, ( eric.vonelert@uni-konstanz.de )

SS46 Allelopathy in Aquatic Systems
Organizers: Catherine Legrand, Marine Science division, Dept. of Biology and Environmental Science, Univer, ( catherine.legrand@hik.se ) and Karin Rengefors, Limnology, Dept. of Ecology, Lund University, Sweden, ( Karin.Rengefors@limnol.lu.se )

SS48 Biogeochemistry, Ecology, and Hydrodynamics of Tidal Flat Systems
Organizers: Jack Middelburg, Netherlands Institute of Ecology (NIOO-KNAW), ( j.middelburg@nioo.knaw.nl ) and Meinhard Simon, ICBM, University of Oldenburg, ( m.simon@icbm.de )

SS50 Ecology of Aquatic Pathogens in a Changing Environment
Organizers: Alexandra Z Worden, Marine Biology and Fisheries Division, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmo, ( aworden@rsmas.miami.edu ) and Stefan Bertilsson, Department of Limnology, Evolutionary Biology Centre, Uppsala University, S, ( stebe@ebc.uu.se )

SS52 Comparative Ecosystem Studies of Harmful Algal Blooms
Organizers: Grant C Pitcher, Marine and Coastal Management, Cape Town, South Africa, ( gpitcher@deat.gov.za ), Patrick Gentien, CREMA, L'Houmeau, France, ( Patrick.Gentien@ifremer.fr ), and Alan Cembella, Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research, Bremerhaven, German, ( acembella@awi-bremerhaven.de )

SS55 Parasitism in the Plankton
Organizers: Alf Skovgaard, Institut de Ciènces del Mar, Barcelona, Spain, ( skovgaard@icm.csic.es ) and D. Wayne Coats, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center, MD, ( coatsw@si.edu )

SS56 Coastal Sand Ecosystem Dynamics
Organizers: Markus Huettel, Florida State University, ( mhuettel@ocean.fsu.edu ) and Perran Cook, Max Planck Institute, ( pcook@mpi-bremen.de )

SS57 Eutrophication, Macroalgal Blooms and Coastal Ecosystem Services
Organizers: Just Cebrian, Dulphin Island Sea Lab, ( jcebrian@disl.org ) and Nuria Marba, Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Spain, ( nuria.marba@uib.es )

SS61 Linkage Between Pico, Nano-plankton and Biogeochemical Cycle in the Ocean
Organizers: Yoshimi Suzuki, Department of Biology and Geosciences, Shizuoka University, ( seysuzu@ipc.shizuoka.ac.jp ), Loic Charpy, IRD, ( lcharpy@com.univ-mrs.fr ), and Beatriz E. Casareto, Laboratory of Aquatic Science, ( casaretobe@aol.com )

SS62 Pelagic Infochemistry
Organizers: Susan B. Watson, National Water Research Institute, Environment Canada, ( swatson@ucalgary.ca ), Georg Pohnert, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Department of Bioorganic Chemist, ( pohnert@ice.mpg.de ), and Michael Steinke, School of Environmental Sciences, University of East Anglia, ( M.Steinke@uea.ac.uk )

SS64 Patterns in the Balance of Planktonic Metabolism in the Ocean
Organizers: Natalia Gonzalez, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, ( ngonzalez@escet.urjc.es ) and Nuria Navarro, Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, ( nnavarro@escet.urjc.es )

SS65 Human Incentives and Valuation of Aquatic Ecosystems and Their Services
Organizers: Niels Vestergaard, University of Southern Denmark, ( nv@sam.sdu.dk ) and Eva Roth, University of Southern Denmark, ( er@sam.sdu.dk )

SS67 Aquatic Pilgrimages: Non-Indigenous Species Invasions in Aquatic Ecosystems
Organizers: Henry Vanderploeg, GLERL/NOAA, ( Henry.Vanderploeg@noaa.gov ), Thomas Nalepa, GLERL/NOAA, ( Thomas.Nalepa@noaa.gov ), and Beatrix Beisner, University of Quebec at Montreal, ( beisner.beatrix@uqam.ca )

SS68 Pharmaceuticals in the Aquatic Environment
Organizers: Miquel Lurling, Wageningen University, Aquatic Ecology & Water Quality Management Group, ( miquel.lurling@wur.nl ) and Marieke de Lange, Wageningen University, Aquatic Ecology & Water Quality Management Group, ( marieke.delange@wur.nl )

SS70 Advances in the Development of Biological Indicators for Assessment of Aquatic Ecosystem Health
Organizers: Dorte Krause Jensen, National Environmental Research Institute, Denmark, ( dkj@dmu.dk ), Anna-Stiina Heiskanen, EC-Joint Research Centre, Institute for Environment and Sustainability, ( anna-stiina.heiskanen@jrc.it ), and Anne Lyche Solheim, Norwegian Institute for Water Research, ( anne.lyche@niva.no )

SS76 The Microbial World as an Effective Model System in Ecology
Organizers: Thierry Bouvier, CNRS-University of Montpellier II, ( tbouvier@univ-montp2.fr ) and Thomas Pommier, Kalmar University, ( thomas.pommier@hik.se )

SS77 Stoichiometric Aspects of Ecology and Evolution in Aquatic Ecosystems
Organizers: Dag O. Hessen, Dept. Biology, University of Oslo, ( d.o.hessen@bio.uio.no ) and Tom Andersen, Dept. Biology, University of Oslo, ( tom.andersen@bio.uio.no )

SS79 Algal and Bacterial Cell Death: Incidence, Mechanisms and Consequences
Organizers: Ilana Berman-Frank, Bar Ilan University, ( irfrank@mail.biu.ac.il ), Tom Berman, Kinneret Limnological Laboratory, ( berman@amiad.org.il ), Kay Bidle, Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences, Rutgers University, ( bidle@imcs.rutgers.edu ), and Susana Agusti, IMEDEA, CSIC-UIB, ( sagusti@uib.es )

SS81 Single-cell Analyses in Aquatic Microbes: Patterns, Controls, and Linkages Between Biogeochemical [Function] and Microbial Diversity
Organizers: Josep M. Gasol, Institut de Ciéncias del Mar - MCIMA, CSIC, ( pepgasol@icm.csic.es ), Barry F. Sherr, Oregon State University, ( sherrb@coas.oregonstate.edu ), and Gerhard J. Herndl, NIOZ, The Netherlands, ( herndl@nioz.nl )

SS82 Benthic Biofilms in Freshwater and Marine Systems
Organizers: Anna M. Romaní, University of Girona, Institute of Aquatic Ecology, ( anna.romani@udg.es ), Helene Cyr, University of Toronto, ( helene@zoo.utoronto.ca ), and Graham Underwood, University of Essex, ( gjcu@essex.ac.uk )

Collaborators and organisers:
Organising committee: http://www.aslo.org/meetings/santiago2005/organizers.html

Website url: http://aslo.org/meetings/santiago2005/

Registration form: http://www.aslo.org/meetings/santiago2005/startprocess.html

Registration fee: 

Relevant costs that should be taken by MARBEF:  

Possibility for day-care centres (facilities for children): No

MarBEF supported event: Yes

Event within Framework of MARBEF: WP4 - Functionality

Maximum number of participants: 

External participants (non MARBEF) allowed: Yes

Posted by WardAppeltans on 2004-11-15 and approved by webmaster